The Old Inn, Crawfordsburn

DUS Watermark

The Old Inn, Crawfordsburn

Crawfordsburn takes its name from the Scottish family of Crawford. In the early 1600s Andrew Crawford from Kilbirnie in Ayrshire, where the ruins of the family castle still stand, moved to County Down. He became a tenant to Sir James Hamilton and is named on the maps of Hamilton’s estate, prepared by Thomas Raven in 1625–6. (These maps can be seen in North Down Museum.)

The picturesque village of Crawfordsburn developed on what was for centuries an important route connecting Belfast, Holywood, Bangor and Donaghadee. Standing in a prominent location on the main street is the famous Old Inn. The thatched portion is the oldest part of the building and is believed to date from 1614.

The Old Inn has a fascinating history and has associations with smugglers, United Irishmen and aristocracy. It has accommodated numerous famous visitors over the years. Among its most celebrated patrons was Belfast-born author C.S. Lewis, who was of Scottish ancestry on his mother’s side.

Now converted into private apartments, Crawfordsburn House was built in 1904–06 for Colonel Robert Gordon Sharman-Crawford. It was designed by Vincent Craig, whose brother James became the first Prime Minister of Northern Ireland in 1921. The beautiful Crawfordsburn Country Park is one of the most popular visitor attractions in Northern Ireland.

Address

Old Inn, Crawfordsburn, Main Street, Crawfordsburn, County Down, BT19 1JH

Further Information

www.theoldinn.com

Telephone: 028 9185 3255

Opening Hours

The Old Inn is open all year round.